Eric Skytterholm Egan | World of Beauty (a) and (b)

World of Beauty a (2003/12) | Full Score
World of Beauty b (2003/12) | Full Score

List of Works


Commissioned by Kurbis, with the support of Komponistenes Vederlagsfond, Norway.

World of Beauty (b) is the second in a cycle of four pieces (+ epilogue) that, when complete, will consist of just over an hour of music; moving from a piano quartet, to a piano trio, a duet for cello and violin and a piece for solo violin. The epilogue will be a short piece for the opening instrumentation, played offstage. World of Beauty (b) is the first piece of the cycle to be completed. Its composition was funded by a grant from Komponistenes Vederlagsforbund (Norway).

The cycle stands out from my output so far as a composer. It differs from most of what I have written, both in terms of material and structure. The material is loosely defined, based on a series of motifs, gestures and impulses. The structure is equally loosely formed, creating the effect of a continuously introspective mental landscape.

The idea behind the compositional process was to take my time; to allow the material to speak clearly and freely, and in its own time. As a composer it is common to make the material speak to your conceptual purpose; however, occasionally, you come across material that speaks for itself. World of Beauty is one of the rare cases of the latter. It is inspired by the following quotation from H.P. Lovecraft:

Thereafter I heard Zann every night, and although he kept me awake,
I was haunted by the weirdness of his music...
Evidently Erich Zann's world of beauty lay in some far cosmos of the imagination.

H. P. Lovecraft - The Music of Erich Zann

Download Program Note | English  Norsk

this         is         the         end     |     return        to        the         top